top of page

Jill Scott's, "Hate on Me"

Sometimes, I listen to the lyrics of this song and wonder about the nature of hate. Is there actually any way to avoid it? Being nice, pretty, fun, kind-hearted -- are these personality traits (the elements of respectability politics) at all associated with not being hated? I just wonder...

If I could give you the world on a silver platter Would it even matter? You'd still be mad at me If I could find in all this a dozen roses Which I would give to you, you'd still be miserable

Here reality I'm gon' be who I be and I don't feel no faults For all the lies that you bought You can try as you may, break me down but I say That it ain't up to you, gone and do what you do

Hate on me, hater, now or later 'Cause I'm gonna do me, you'll be mad, baby Go 'head and hate on me, hater, I'm not afraid of What I got I paid for, you can hate on me

Ooh, if I gave you peaches outta my own garden And I made you a peach pie, would you slap me high? Wonder if I gave you diamonds out of my own womb Would you feel the love in that or ask why not the moon?

If I gave you sanity for the whole of humanity Had all the solutions for the pain and pollution No matter where I live, despite the things I give You'll always be this way, so go 'head and

Hate on me, hater, now or later 'Cause I'm gonna do me, you'll be mad, baby Go 'head and hate on me, hater, I'm not afraid of What I got I paid for, you can hate on me (repeat)

You cannot hate on me 'cause my mind is free Feel my destiny, so shall it be You cannot hate on me 'cause my mind is free Feel my destiny, so shall it be (repeat w/ chorus)

Hate on me, hater, now or later 'Cause I'm gonna do me, you'll be made, baby Go 'head and hate on me, hater, I'm not afraid of What I got I paid for, you can hate on me

Songwriters SCOTT, JILL H. / BLACKSTONE, ADAM W. / MCKIE, STEVEN WADELL

Published by Lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group, Royalty Network, JELLYBEAN MUSIC GROUP

Read more: Jill Scott - Hate On Me Lyrics | MetroLyrics


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page